top of page

On Event Information - R2 Taupō

This information is intended for media to use in production of content for their own use. All content is free for editorial use only.


Photo credit: Tayler Burke

Photo credit: Tayler Burke

Photo credit: Tayler Burke

The second of seven events for the 2024 championship season returns to the Taupō International MotorSport Park. Known as the Historic GP its theme for 2024 is Holden and will feature cars significant to the brand along with celebrated drivers such as Greg Murphy, Craig Lowndes, Jack Perkins and Steven Richards.

Also on the weekend schedule is the opening round of the Castrol Toyota Formula Regional Oceania Championship (CTFROC) and the arrival of 15 international drivers that will edge the competition grid toward 20 cars, including local drivers.

A total of seven race categories will contest the weekend including the SAS Autoparts MSC NZ F5000 Tasman Cup Revival series – who will race for Sunday’s Historic GP title.


Other categories include the Holden All-Comers, Historic Touring Cars NZ, Historic Sports Sedans, Saloons and GTs, Formula Open NZ and Formula Junior/F3/Historic Formula Ford.


NB: The event is known as a GP rather than Grand Prix – a title reserved for two events outside of Formula One (New Zealand and Macau).


Guests of the weekend also include:

Kenny Smith,

Dick Bennetts,

Graeme Lawrence,

Ray Stone,

Max Rutherford,

John Windelburn,

Racing Ray Williams


Demonstration cars/appearances:

RNZAF Black Falcons

1993 Perkins Commodore (Bathurst winning) – Jack Perkins

2003 Perkins VY Commodore (PE 041) – Steve Richards

2007 HRT VE Commodore (first VE to win a V8 Supercar race) – Harri Jones

Triple 8 Gen3 Camaro 888A-063 (Shane van Gisbergen Bathurst winning car) – TBC

2003 Bathurst 24 Hour-winning Monaro – Greg Murphy

The series will again be televised live on Sky Sport in New Zealand and Fox Sports in Australia, as well as Pasifika television and streamed offshore via


bottom of page